Who Do You Listen To?

I have been working on message for this weekend, its about Listening to God and doing what He say’s….

I am speaking this one because thats the passage I was given but two because I see a huge problem in the Church when it comes to who we listen to… Here is what the Bible says:

22Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. – James 1:22

I believe that all to often we read: “Do not merely listen to the world, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”

All to often I see Christians all across America choosing what world says and calling that truth instead of what God says about love, life and labels…

Lets take a look at life: I had a friend who growing up really focused on what others thought about him… This was no more true than when we would go snowboarding together. I remember we used to have so much fun riding down the hills, trying to teach cute girls how to snowboard and just having a really great time snowboarding together!

There was one area of the mountain that I always wanted to go to but my friend never did… The Half Pipe…  if they did go.. this friend of mine would just sit at the top of the hill and never go down the pipe… He was always very content standing at the top of the pipe…

My brother told me one day that the reason my friend did this was because he was always afraid what someone from his school would say if they saw him… He was so worried about what people would say about his riding in the half pipe that he never allowed himself to get good at riding it!

I really learned alot from that experience, never let what people say about you to keep you from learning!

I mean seriously, why do we let the world and sometimes even what other Christians think about we are doing bring us down?

OF COURSE I SAY THIS WITHIN REASON… IM NOT TALKING ABOUT SINNING AND CALLING PEOPLE OUT FOR SIN….

But I mean I wonder how many of us would be more OPEN, not BOLD but OPEN about our faith if we stopped caring about the rejection that Jesus told us would come once and awhile….

I wonder what this world would look like if we just helped people without needing anything in return… without looking for praise or accolades…

I wonder how our families would live like if listened to Jesus words about love and sought common ground and became peacemakers…

All to often its like we forget that the Bible has everything we need for life… and the things Jesus says about you should trump far above anything the world tries to lie to you about!

Remember when the creature of Matter tells YOU, YOU MATTER  and you believe it that changes everything!!!

So next time we have a minute to stop and think we should ask ourselves who are we listening to… Remember like the statement “you are what you eat” you often become who you listen to… If your becoming more like the world… Maybe you should take inventory of who you listen to…

Jesus said: “I came that they may have life and have it to the full” -John 10:10

Jesus said: “I came for the sinners not the righteous people” – Matthew 9:13

Jesus said:  33“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

Jesus said: “Blessed are they that mourn for they will be comforted – Matthew 5:4

Jesus said: “illuminate to those around you the light you have from God that they may glorify HIM! – Matthew 5:16

Jesus said: “Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them.” -Matthew 5:17

Jesus said: 37Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” – Matthew 5:37

Jesus said: “If all you do is love the lovable, do you expect a bonus? Anybody can do that. If you simply say hello to those who greet you, do you expect a medal? Any run-of-the-mill sinner does that.” Matthew 5:46

Jesus said: “whoever wants to be first must be your slave— 28just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” Matthew 20:27-28

Jesus said a lot of things… Does His word change the way you live your life? I know its been changing mine! Or do you listen to the voices of the people who might not even have the things of God in mind…. I know I have been guilty of that as well..

When we stop listening to the lies and go to Jesus the truth for how we should live our lives everything becomes clear… When we look at Him the perfect example of life we realize the areas of our life where we need to allow God to come in and fix… When we focus on Jesus and off ourselves we stop leading the blind and begin seeing life maybe alittle bit closer to how it was meant to be…

A good reminder to Stop listening to people and listen to Christ!

Leave a Reply

