Size Matters: Goal Setting

64497_10151258269176604_1855601412_n

When New Years roles around every year I usually think of something that I want to change in my life. I think most of us do. Its a fresh start… We all like fresh starts…

We need fresh starts!!!

This year my goals were focused in three areas: Family, Faith and Fitness (Come on I’m a preacher, its in our blood) With those three areas I looked honestly at where I was currently, where I wanted to be and then I committed to the daily grind to accomplish the goals.

Now that I have completed two months of chasing these goals I believe its time to reveal some of them slowly and evaluate where I am at.

 

So for Fitness: My Goal is to run 30 Miles each month of 2013. Two months in and I have been both very excited about this goal as well as scared I was not going to make it. January was a huge month for run mileage, I ran 50+ Miles. But then February rolled around, everything got incredibly busy… I did not get to my first run until February 9th… and my second run on the 17th… Half way through February I had only run 4.1 miles…

I thought for sure that I would end up failing this goal, there were moments were I felt that the goals I made were not solid… I was tempted to give in and fail… This month really tested my level of excuse production… In the old me I would make so many excuses and not worry about following through with my goal… But this is a NEW YEAR! 

I am reminded of Philippians 1:6 “he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus”

I recommitted myself to my goals and the completion of them…I met my goal on February 25th & February 28th, I ran my last run for a total Mileage count of: 32.98m!!!!

This month I learned: “If you tell yourself you can’t finish a task without any effort to complete it, you are cheating yourself”

 

Next Month: I will be evaluating my FAITH Section of my goals! Just a hint… I used to believe the lie: I Don’t need to read the Bible everyday, because you want to read for quality not quantity… But I have come to realize that you never know when quality will strike… So we must be reading God’s Word and allowing it to SPEAK to me and shape my life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

