You Are A Bad Volunteer… Defeating Lies with Truth about volunteering…

Being a volunteer in student ministry is not an easy job…Often new volunteers jump into student ministry not realizing what they have signed up for. I don’t think anybody realizes how intimidating the process of moving from a new volunteer to a veteran volunteer is or how rewarding it can be.

Student ministry volunteers will often face feelings of worthlessness & overwhelming ineffectiveness with their contribution in the lives of students. Often this is the hard part of the process, and overcoming ourselves(and these lies) is necessary for you to begin to write the story God has called us to. I want to encourage you by identifying some of the lies you might have told yourself. I hope in reading these that you realize your not the only one who has fallen prey to these lies. After acknowledging the lie I hope you hear the truth and a practical way to combat the lie with TRUTH in action…

Here are some of the lies I have seen in the approach to volunteering in student ministry…. People who believe these lies will never find fulfillment in student ministry… It is our choice to choose to believe the truth over the lie… Choose wisely, lives are literally hanging in the balance… No pressure though…

LIE #1: “I am here, students come to me”…

Just showing up is not good enough in the long run, if you want to make a real impact. Take a risk and say hello, ask a question, and most importantly listen to the answer… Standing around talking to adults will leave you feeling unaccomplished at the end of every youth gathering ever…

LIE #2: The youth pastor is more engaging with the students and building relationships comes easy to him, so I the volunteer get a free pass…

The Youth Pastor, no matter how great he “Engages and Builds relationships” with students, IS ONLY ONE GUY… He can’t build a meaningful relationship with every student… He needs you to buy into the reality that you are on the team to build Christ centered relationships with students. No free passes in student ministry, we are only strong when we work together in greeting and meeting and remembering His kids.

LIE #3: It’s my job to keep peace…

Yes, but, peace is better kept when your sitting with or standing with the students rather than the other side of the room… Don’t think you are more effective in the back of the room. No students should be in the back of the room, peace is easy when nobody is there… Walls don’t build relationships, leave them alone, be with the students….

LIE #4: I’m not the “cool volunteer”….

I HATE this lie because, God doesn’t make accidents, you are on the team because one student won’t connect with any other leader, BUT YOU…. Stop Hiding, start Finding the student God has prepared for YOU to impact with the HOPE of Christ…

Satan is the best liar this world has ever seen…. Believing these lies are part of his plan to keep you from being effective in serving Jesus in this most important ministry… Veteran youth leaders know these lies are present and rejects them every time they arise with action. Know your not alone because of Jesus you don’t have to hide behind these lies anymore. The lies are identified and called out… Now the real work begins!!!

What lies have you believed? What is the truth that helped you overcome?

One thought on “You Are A Bad Volunteer… Defeating Lies with Truth about volunteering…

  1. I love this Tom! Thanks for posting! I can not begin to tell you how rewarding it is to be a volunteer in youth Ministry, especially here at WCH! When I had the opportunity to join the Middle School program I was sad to leave the High School ministry and yet excited to begin the next chapter and what I found was almost described by you in this post to a tee, I felt like I may not belong, and was completely overwhelmed by thinking I had to impress or prove myself, to both the kids as well as others in the ministry. What I found was that God was using my feelings to help me understand what the students were probably feeling, and as a result it helped me to just “be myself” and be the kid I am lol, and as a result this has been and I’m quite confidant this will be the best year of my life in ministry and I thank God for choosing me to be the vessel he needs me to be!

Leave a Reply

